text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Basic Principles of Our Compliance Management System 

With our compliance management system that is valid worldwide, Sartorius ensures that the members of its individual boards, executives and employees comply with all legal regulations and codes, and perform their activities in accordance with the company’s internal rules and guidelines. Targeted training and awareness-raising prevent any misconduct, as well as economic damage and loss of image.

 

Sartorius makes every effort to ensure optimal risk management by using a combination of approaches: a preventive compliance approach designed to proactively stop any potential breaches before they occur and a repressive compliance approach intended to continuously monitor compliance with our rules. These processes are closely intermeshed, creating a standardized compliance management system that aims to offer the best possible protection against potential violations of our rules and regulations. 

 

Sartorius has developed a Code of Conduct as a preventive component of our compliance management system and has committed to an Anti-Corruption Code.

 

Sartorius Code of Conduct

The Sartorius Code of Conduct specifies the requirements on the responsible conduct of all employees of the Sartorius Group. This set of rules provides them with guidance on how to act in a legally correct and ethically appropriate way in their daily work. 

 

Download:

 

Sartorius Anti-Corruption Code

This Anti-Corruption Code serves as the basis for making all employees aware of the risks of corruption, while providing guidance, instructions and help to enable them to take the appropriate action to prevent and fight such corruption. 

 

Download:

 

Sartorius ensures that all Group employees worldwide are thoroughly familiar with both Codes by requiring them to complete online training and earn a certificate. 

Sartorius adheres to the principles of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Labor Organization (ILO) and the United Nations Global Compact, the world’s largest initiative for human rights, labor standards, environmental protection and anti-corruption. The company’s internal principles, such as its Code of Conduct and Code of Conduct for Suppliers, are derived from these global tenets.

In addition, Sartorius has made it a policy to require its business partners to adopt its standards of compliant conduct as well. For this reason, Sartorius performs third-party due diligence or so-called business partner checks; i.e., the company reviews the integrity of business partners on a risk-oriented basis. 

Code of Conduct for suppliers

The Sartorius Group also expects its suppliers and service providers, in particular, to comply with internationally recognized social and environmental standards, to abide by the laws, uphold the tenets of fair competition and to respect human rights. Our company excludes existing or new suppliers who are determined to be the source of considerable risks regarding compulsory, forced or child labor, other violations of human rights or negative effects on society. These requirements are set forth in our Code of Conduct for Suppliers and Service Providers.

 

Download:

An internal system is available for reporting any suspicious circumstances involving potential compliance violations.

 

Whistleblower Portal

In addition to having set up established routes for reporting compliance-related concerns to the Compliance Department or managers, Sartorius has created a whistleblower portal to enable employees, suppliers, customers or partners to report any potentially damaging conduct 24 hours a day, seven days a week. This specially secured portal is made available through an external provider who is specialized in handling confidential data securely. Every whistleblower can decide whether or not to report compliance-related concerns by giving his or her name or by doing so anonymously.

 

Whistleblower Portal

Compliance Hotline

Sartorius employees, suppliers, customers or partners can use our telephone hotline to contact our Compliance Department directly. There they will receive answers to questions concerning compliance and can report damaging conduct, also anonymously, if desired. This hotline is available free of charge worldwide.

 

The repressive component of our compliance management system is designed to ensure comprehensive monitoring and efficiency review of the control mechanisms mentioned above. The key elements of Sartorius’ internal control system consist of a combination of process-integrated and process-independent monitoring measures. Among the most important organizational measures that have been anchored in Sartorius’ corporate culture for a long time is the rule of separation of functions, taking into account the “four-eyes” principle. In particular, the Supervisory Board and the Legal Affairs & Compliance Department play a key role in process-independent monitoring and review activities. Within the Supervisory Board, the Audit Committee, in particular, is tasked with reviewing internal control processes. In addition, this committee intensively focuses on reviewing the annual and consolidated financial statements and the quarterly financial reports. To ensure systematic, prompt identification of risks, Sartorius moreover has a monitoring system in place, pursuant to Section 91 II of the German Stock Corporation Law (AktG), for early group-wide detection of risks that have the potential to jeopardize the company’s continued existence.

text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Grundzüge des Compliance Management Systems

Mit einem weltweit gültigen Compliance Management System stellt Sartorius sicher, dass Organmitglieder, Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter alle gesetzlichen Regeln und Kodizes einhalten und entsprechend der internen Richtlinien handeln. Durch gezielte Aufklärung wird Fehlverhalten vorgebeugt und wirtschaftliche Schäden und Imageverlust werden vermieden.

 

Sartorius versucht durch ein Zusammenspiel aus einem präventiven Compliance-Ansatz, der potentielle Regelverstöße bereits im Vorfeld verhindern soll, und einem repressiven Compliance-Ansatz, der eine kontinuierliche Überwachung der Regeleinhaltung bieten soll, eine optimale Risikobewältigung zu gewährleisten. Durch ein Ineinandergreifen der beiden Ansätze entsteht ein einheitliches Compliance Management System, das einen bestmöglichen Schutz vor potentiellen Regelungsverstößen bieten soll. 

 

Als präventive Komponente des Compliance Management Systems hat Sartorius einen Verhaltenskodex entwickelt und sich einem Antikorruptionskodex verpflichtet.

Sartorius Verhaltenskodex

Der Sartorius Verhaltenskodex konkretisiert die Anforderungen an das verantwortungsvolle Handeln aller Mitarbeiter des Sartorius Konzerns. Das Regelwerk hilft ihnen, sich bei der täglichen Arbeit rechtlich korrekt und moralisch angemessen zu verhalten. 

 

Download:

 

Sartorius Antikorruptionskodex

Der Antikorruptionskodex dient als Grundlage für die Sensibilisierung aller Mitarbeiter hinsichtlich der Korruptionsgefahren. Der Antikorruptionskodex ist zugleich Richtschnur, Handlungsanleitung und Hilfestellung, um unternehmens- und branchenspezifisch die nötigen Maßnahmen zur Korruptionsprävention und auch zur Korruptionsbekämpfung treffen zu können. 

 

Download:

 

Dass alle Mitarbeiter des Konzerns mit beiden Kodizes vertraut sind, wird sichergestellt, indem alle Beschäftigten weltweit ein Online-Training absolvieren und mit einem Zertifikat abschließen. 

Sartorius befolgt die Leitsätze der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte der Vereinten Nationen, der Internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO) und des UN Global Compact, der weltweit größten Initiative für Menschenrechte, Arbeitsstandards, Umweltschutz und Korruptionsbekämpfung. Interne Grundsätze wie der Verhaltenskodex und der Verhaltenskodex für Lieferanten sind davon abgeleitet.

Weiterhin hat Sartorius es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, den eigenen Anspruch an regelkonformes Verhalten auch an seine Geschäftspartner zu stellen. Aus diesem Grund nimmt Sartorius den sogenannten Business Partner Check vor, das heißt, Geschäftspartner werden risikoorientiert auf ihre Integrität überprüft. 

Verhaltenskodex für Lieferanten

Die Einhaltung international anerkannter Sozial- und Umweltstandards, Gesetzestreue und fairen Wettbewerb sowie die Achtung der Menschenrechte erwartet der Sartorius Konzern insbesondere auch von seinen Lieferanten. Bestehende und neue Lieferanten, bei denen ein erhebliches Risiko von Kinder-, Zwangs- oder Pflichtarbeit, andere Verstöße gegen Menschenrechte oder negative Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft ermittelt werden, werden ausgeschlossen. Die Anforderungen sind im Verhaltenskodex für Lieferanten niedergelegt.

 

Download:

Für etwaige Verdachtsmomente auf Compliance-Verstöße steht ein internes Meldesystem zur Verfügung.

 

Hinweisgeberportal

Zusätzlich zu den etablierten Meldewegen über die Compliance-Abteilung oder die Führungskräfte hat Sartorius ein Hinweisgeberportal eingerichtet. Hier können Mitarbeiter, Lieferanten, Kunden oder Partner 24 Stunden, sieben Tage die Woche potenziell schädigendes Verhalten melden. Das speziell gesicherte Portal wird von einem externen Dienstleister zur Verfügung gestellt, der auf den sicheren und vertraulichen Umgang mit sensiblen Daten spezialisiert ist. Jeder Hinweisgeber kann entscheiden, ob er seine Meldung namentlich oder anonym vornehmen möchte.

 

Hinweisgeberportal

Compliance Hotline

Über die telefonische Hotline können sich Sartorius-Mitarbeiter, Lieferanten, Kunden und Partner direkt an die Compliance-Abteilung wenden. Sie erhalten dort Antworten zu Fragen aus dem Bereich Compliance und können schädigendes Verhalten melden, auch anonym. Die Hotline ist weltweit kostenfrei erreichbar.

 

Die repressive Komponente des Compliance Management Systems soll eine umfangreiche Überwachung und Effizienzprüfung der vorbezeichneten Kontrollmechanismen sicherstellen. Die Kernelemente des internen Kontrollsystems bilden prozessintegrierte sowie prozessunabhängige Überwachungsmaßnahmen. Zu den wichtigsten und schon lange in der Unternehmenskultur von Sartorius verankerten organisatorischen Maßnahmen gehört das Prinzip der klaren Funktionstrennung unter Beachtung des Vier-Augen-Prinzips. Hinsichtlich der prozessunabhängigen Überwachungsmaßnahmen spielen insbesondere der Aufsichtsrat sowie der Fachbereich Legal Affairs & Compliance eine wichtige Rolle. Innerhalb des Aufsichtsrats ist vor allem der Auditausschuss mit der Überprüfung der internen Kontrollprozesse betraut. Dieser befasst sich außerdem intensiv mit dem Jahres- und Konzernabschluss sowie der Quartalsfinanzberichterstattung. Darüber hinaus hat Sartorius zur systematischen Früherkennung ein Überwachungssystem zur Früherkennung existenzgefährdender Risiken gemäß § 91 II AktG eingerichtet.